A member may request for their membership payments to be frozen for a number of reasons, and is designed to give your member a break in their payments to then start again in the future. 

IMPORTANT NOTE

This feature is available for GoCardless customers only. If your Direct Debit provider is one of our other Integrated Partners and you're not sure how to Freeze a membership, please contact us through the Orange Button so we can advise you how that provider operates their Freeze function.

Please also be aware that if you set the membership to freeze LESS than 4 working days from when the membership payment is due to be made, the payment will still be taken because GoCardless operates on a 4-working-day notice when requesting payments.

For example, if a member wishes to freeze their membership payment from the 1st of August but their membership fee is due to be taken on the 3rd of August, that payment will still be taken because not enough notice has been given. 

Frozen memberships will still expire as the contract runs down, however, payments will not be requested.

How to set up a Freeze

Firstly, find the member that wants to freeze their membership and go to their profile. Then, select the Membership Plan you want to Freeze.

Click the blue Edit button.

Go To Options.

Here you'll see the freeze option. Click Freeze Membership.

Once you have clicked on the Freeze Button, you will be able to set the period of time for which you would like to freeze the membership.
If you are happy with how the freeze has been set up, you can go ahead and click Freeze Now. If you've changed your mind, simply click No - Go Back.

Now that the Freeze has been applied, it will be clear in that member's plan that the Membership Plan status has been Frozen.

It will now be easy to see within Payments which payments are frozen - both when the freeze began and when the payments will recommence.

If a member with a Frozen Membership tries to gain access to your club, the Welcome Screen will present them with the following message, as their membership is considered inactive - because it's frozen.

Your Member Communications
The process of applying a Freeze with GoCardless means that a Subscription is ended and a new one set up in the future - all at the same time.

This will generate 2 emails from GoCardless saying that a Subscription has ended and a new one has been set up - which is what the Freeze essentially is.

The Member now also gets a dedicated email from your club to clearly state that their membership has been Frozen, and the changes have been applied to their membership payments. You can see what this email will look like below.

Note: ProRight customers will be able to customise the contents of this email.

Did this answer your question?